Coliseum II

I know some of you have wanted to see what the molds for the individual pieces of this project look like. So, here they are.
100_4285

If you look closely you’ll see that there are two molds that are duplicates of one another that make the base / capitol parts… one to place the engaged column section on .. the other for the top to act as a capitol. They are situated on the top right and left of the picture.
The mold leaning on the column section is also sitting on the piece that came from it. Not too noticeable is the angle built into it this mold … when the piece is situated next to the column section it tells me right where to put the next column section making it easy to assemble the arch without too much trouble. It’s mate that covers the arch, and goes between two capitols, is sitting on the piece made from it. The only real difference is that this one does not have the small ramp built into it. The next two pictures give you a bit more detail of these and one of the arch sections.
100_4286

100_4287

This next picture gives you an idea of how the mold for the columnn section was assembled. Unfortunately it can’t show how the smaller engaged columns for the arch are carved. maybe on a later post.
100_4289
So, that’s pretty much it. This is the most complex project I have worked on since building ‘The Aquaduct’ several years ago. Hopefully there will be two more complete sections for the lower tier. I think it will fit where I intend to erect the whole thing … we’ll see ! And, I couldn’t resist one final shot with all the pieces that are done so far.
100_4291

Does anyone know how to build a small chariot ?

~ by Ed B on November 5, 2009.

6 Responses to “Coliseum II”

  1. Wow, Great work! I wish I could do this!! Yes, Rome is an awesome place to visit!! THe art is phenomonal!!

    • Thanks Naeem ! I hope very much to return to Rome sometime … need more than a few days to see what needs to be seen and absorbed !
      Thanks again !

  2. Hello Ed…just came across your site and have to say that is some impressive mold work! I would like to post a link to your site onto my cement & concrete discussion forum if it is OK with you. I know that the members & visitors there would be equally impressed and interested. Take a look at my site and let me know if the link is alright with you…www.thegardenartforum.com

    • *Hi, Yes, be my guest with the link ! And, thanks for the compliments ! I look forward to looking more closely at your site … an initial look around looks like I’ll be spending a bit of time there. Thanks again ! Ed *

  3. Thank you and I will post a note today to our members suggesting they take a look. And do feel free to join in the conversations there. We have a great bunch of folks who are crazy for ‘crete.

    • *Thanks, and I have taken a look around. Am kinda new at the ‘posting’ part of all this, but, seems like your site is a great place for info and encouragement. I have yet to find, except yours, a place where others share the passion for building things with concrete !*

Leave a Reply

