New project .. on the drawing board

Preliminary drawings are pretty much completed for the project I hope to start when the Coliseum is complete. Hopefully I will be able to do some work on molds this winter in the basement. The only part not really considered yet is what the whole thing will stand on .. it being a dome with an oculus I don’t want it to just look like an igloo. And it has to stand with no obvious supporting structure. Here’s a couple of the drawings I have come up with, so far.

There will be nine of those ‘base molds’ .. eighteen arch sections resting at the top on the shaped cone-like keystone that will not be solid. It will work like the oculus in The Pantheon, hopefully. I just hope me and my trusty saber saw are up to the task !

~ by Ed B on December 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

