A Centering Device … falseworks

I was recently asked how I got the pieces into place when building an arch … especially of five or more pieces. Yes, an extra set of hands would be a big help, however, using a centering device or falseworks is really the way to go. And, I just happened to have saved the device I constructed to use to install the center arch on the aquaduct. As it sits in the second picture it is almost in position … a small piece of plywood and a few cedar shingles are all that’s needed. The shingles, being tapered, are good for the last pieces … they slide out easily after the arch segments are all in place. If all the pieces are sitting flush with one another .. and you are reasonably sure the bases that the whole arch is sitting on won’t move … just take out one of the shingles and hope for the best !! Yes, this pretty much how the Romans did it !

A picture is worth a thousand words when trying to tell how something is done .. and, those plywood boxes just happen to be the molds I used for the blocks used for the first arch I constructed. There are a couple pictures of it in the ‘Flicker Photos’ section on the right.

~ by Ed B on February 3, 2010.

2 Responses to “A Centering Device … falseworks”

  1. THIS IS A GREAT ART AND IT SO NATURAL ANS VERY ATRACTIVE AND LOVELY. KEEP IT UP

  2. Thanks !! If you looked around on my site you know I have several projects I’m working on … I’ll keep it up !!

Leave a Reply

