Homedepot Arches ? …. Hmmm….

There’s no place like home … We got back from Florida yesterday and this morning the thermometer read 25 degrees !! Not that it was much more than that every morning in Ft Myers, but, at least it warmed up to mid sixties and maybe even managed seventy one day during our stay, which was just three full days. We aren’t touristy kinda folks so we don’t have the usual touristy pictures … but, in keeping with the theme of this blog I took one picture that interested me. Now, we have all heard of the MacDonalds arches and the Gateway Arch in St. Louis … but arches for Homedepot ?? Yup, found this set of arches to the entrance of a Homedepot in the Ft Myers area, so, just had to get a shot from the car. It’s not the best picture, but, it’s the only one I took, so ………..

There’s another set just like this one on the other side of the road, but, I couldn’t figure out how to get a single picture with both without stopping traffic and getting myself arrested for creating a disturbance !
The temperature is supposed to soar all the way to 50 today !! Maybe I can get some cleanup type stuff done in the back yard … don’t think I’ll be pouring any cement today !!

~ by Ed B on March 10, 2010.

3 Responses to “Homedepot Arches ? …. Hmmm….”

  1. If the purpose of these arches was to eliminate the feeling of entering a shopping plaza, they certainly succeeded! In fact, what’s visible in the photo seems more like the entrance to a residential area, or at worst an office plaza. 🙂

    BTW, There are all kinds of really expensive, and environmentally uncool, chemical additives that allow for pouring concrete in less than ideal conditions. I can’t say I’d recommend any of them. 🙄

    • Mak … I think it was an entrance to a huge shopping plaza that the Homedepot was a part of. We drove right through to the other entance / exit that had another set of those arches. Think I’ll wait for the weather to be right instead using the really expensive, uncool chemical additives … that’s just not my style. And, my wallet isn’t up to the challenge !
      Ed

  2. Ed,

    I don’t know much about architecture, but as a classics major, I can’t help but think of Roman aqueducts :).

    Yes, the quote is significant to me for two reasons: 1) The Fountainhead is one of my absolute favorite books. 2) It captures the essence of the final heat of one specific rowing race in high school. One of the women on my boat wrote this quote on a piece of duct tape and stuck it to my seat.

    Best,
    Tammy

Leave a comment