The Best Laid Plans …

“Ah yes .. a great week coming up” … I’ve been buying some cement every week … got all the molds for the coliseum out and ready for some cleaning and assembly. This was gonna be a good week ! So, Sunday we had some home made apple pie after supper … watched ’60 Minutes’ … did regular stuff and headed up stairs .. and shut out the light around 9:30.
At 2 Monday morning the cramps and pain started .. tossed and turned till six. Tried the Pepto and ginger ale trick that had no effect. By 9:30 or so we headed to the emergency room. 12:30 had me drinking that awful tasting stuff for a ‘cat’ scan .. sure wish they could improve the formular for that stuff !! The scan was read around 3:00 and at 5:00 I was being wheeled in to have my appendix removed !!
This was definitely not my plan for Monday … or the rest of the week for that matter ! So, not sure when I’ll be able to heft a bag of cement … but, I’m usually a fast healer. And, you know what they say ..’Rome wasn’t built in a day’ !!

~ by Ed B on April 7, 2010.

4 Responses to “The Best Laid Plans …”

  1. OMG! Glad you caught it in time! Get well soon. 😕

    • Thanks Mak ! Guess I’m late with stuff like this .. most people have appendicitis when they’re quite a bit younger than I am. As I said I’m typically a fast healer … a little surgery can’t keep me down for too long !
      Ed

  2. Ouch! A CAT scan for an appendicitis? Usually they just poke you, and if it hurts, they take it out. Well, there is comfort in the knowledge that you can only get it removed once! Get well soon.

    • Yeah, ouch ! I guess the scan was needed because initially the pain was not just centered on the appendix … and the scan showed another potential problem in the wings …. so I guess it was a good thing. Sometimes feels like getting old(er) is hard to do.
      Getting well as fast as I can !! Too many things to build to have stuff like this getting in the way !!

Leave a Reply

