The Lamp Post

This is probably my last offering for the season .. the cold kinda gets in the way when you want to pour cement. And you can’t fight Mom Nature. So here it is: a five foot lamp post with embosses on three sides .. and two feet in the ground cemented in with a good bowl at the bottom of the hole. The lamp is solar powered. I know it’s a little disproportional to the size of the post, but, it’s the largest they had at HD. It is secured so it can be removed … this spring I plan to buy a larger one that looks more like the old oil or gas lamps that used to line city streets.
A sad note: I used the last of my ‘FleckStone’ texture spray on the post … and a couple coats of ‘KlearCote’ and have recently found out that this product is no longer being made. I plan on two more of these posts to set around the curve of the walkway to the front door. Just hope I can find a good replacement for the Fleckstone.
A last note … a friend in Florida, not old enough to remember the old oil lamps, but, a Sherlock Holmes fan, was who suggested this project to me. And so, thank you !!
Now, here’s a couple pictures. I placed it in the front yard with the peony border that went in earlier this year.

~ by Ed B on October 20, 2010.

2 Responses to “The Lamp Post”

  1. I like it! I’m having a hard time imagining it with bigger lamp, though. I guess I’ll have to just wait and see!

    BTW, I love the Flickr Photos. 😀

    • Thanks Mak !! Funny .. another person has said that lamp looks small and scared on top of that big post.:)
      Yeah, you get to see my ugly mug on some of the pics I have on Flickr ….
      Ed

Leave a Reply

